Sugar Free Low Carb Jellies to your Delight!

I guess I have been stricken with the old fashioned roots of making what you eat! It proves to be tastier, memorable, satisfying and rewarding. They say necessity is the mother of invention and it is so true. What got me started on this was being tired of paying a huge price for a small amount of pure organic unsweetened jelly. I started my research to see just how do they do it?

I purchased a canning book (Ball) from Walmart, reviewed my cookbooks and then the back side of the Pectin packages and found just the right recipe that fit for my plums and strawberries. I started with fresh strawberries.

When I saw them on sale and really fresh looking, it was time to purchase plenty and make up my jars of jellies. You can choose to can or not to can. The jellies will last a couple weeks to a month in the refrigerator without a problem with no canning, just the cooking process described below.

Here are the things you need to have on hand to do this:

Walmart’s Ball brand packets of pectin. Really doesn’t matter which “type” pectin you choose, but for me I chose 1. Pectin for low to no sugar recipes and 2. Classic pectin. :You are benefiting from my experience and now I can tell you if you do not add actual sugar, you need a little more pectin. So if it calls for 1 package, I use two.

Let’s begin with strawberry jam or jelly.
Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups of fresh strawberries, after going through processor to small bits

2 packets of your choice of pectin (the size of a jello packet)

1/3 cup of frozen concentrated organic grape juice (purple)

4-5 small packs of powdered stevia (looks like sweet n low packs)

Directions: place the grape juice in the pan, pour in the strawberry puree. Add the 2 packs of powdered pectin and stir in well. Heat to boiling while stirring constantly. When get to boiling temperature, boil for 1 minute and stir constantly. Remove from heat.

Jars should already be cleaned and now sitting in heated water to keep from breaking them. Use the small jelly jars you buy Kerr or Ball. This should fill up 4 to 5 jars (8 ounces). Place the tops on and close tightly and let sit in your kitchen to cool then refrigerate. You will LOVE these! You will never believe there is no sugar in them! Happy breakfast with jelly! The exact same procedure to make plum jelly. You do not peel the plums! A lot of the flavor is in the peel. Deee-licious! There are different instructions for other fruits, so be sure to read the back of the low sugar pectin pack before deciding what to do. You can also use concentrated frozen apple juice. I found the apple juice is great with the plums, but I like both the apple and the grape with them. Bon Appetit!

Blessings of Autumn to you!

Natures Sunshine Herbs

Leave a Reply

